Learn states and capitals for Government exam preparations

States and Capitals of India are crucial for individuals preparing for SSC and railway examinations. It is because the questions in the exams consist of more general knowledge questions. 

The examination board has included this topic to test the candidate’s knowledge of everyday activities and recent happenings in India and globally. If you are well aware of the states in India, it will be easier to secure more marks in the questions associated with the topic.

The state and capital of India list are lengthy, requiring individuals to memorise them well. There are around 28 states in the country, and you should also know about the crucial details of each state. 

For instance, Chennai is the capital of Tamil Nadu, and the language spoken in the state is Tamil. Similarly, you have to memorise the information of all the states and Union territories. Previously, there were 29 states and seven union territories. After article 370, Ladakh and Jammu Kashmir are considered the union territories of India.

Government exams for which you have to learn states and capitals

  • RRB Group D

Though these exams require the candidates to study states and capitals, you can expect associated questions in most SSC and Railway examinations.

Get rid of the confusion about the number of states

Many people are baffled when asked about the number of states in India. You would have learnt that there were twenty-nine states in India. However, it was reduced to 28 a few years ago. Whether you are preparing for the competitive exams or not, it is essential to know this basic information. Every responsible citizen in the country should also know the state and capital of India list.

Categorisation of states and capitals

It might be an unheard detail about the states and capitals. However, you should know that there are three capital types: legislative, judicial, and administrative.

The state’s high court will be situated in the judicial capital, whereas the legislative assembly is in the legislative capital. Government functions are executed from the administrative capital, which is why administrative capitals are famous.

Languages of India

Most of the states in India have a regional language, so you should learn that too. Under the Indian constitution, 22 languages are authorised under the eighth schedule. There is one official language for every state in India, but you will realise that diverse regional languages are used. For instance, Tamil is the official language of Tamil Nadu, but regional languages like Telugu, Kannada, Urdu and Malayalam are also used.

Union Territories and their capitals

There are several differences between Indian states and Union Territories. First off, the Governor is the head of the state, and Lieutenant Governor is the head of Union Territory. Similarly, some significant differences in the administrative structure can be distinguished. The eight union territories of India include Delhi, Puducherry, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Chandigarh, Ladakh and Jammu Kashmir.

Basic questions related to Indian states and capitals

  • The capital of Maharashtra is Mumbai
  • Name the city nicknamed the summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir. Srinagar

These are some examples of questions you may expect in the government examinations.

Wrapping up

Memorising the states and capitals is crucial for the candidates appearing for the competitive exams in the country. Ensure that you have all the details to study well and utilise effective study materials to help you in the journey of government exam preparations.